Book of Church Order

The Book of Church Order contains the Government, the Disciplinary and Judicial Procedures, the Bylaws and Special Rules of Order of the General Synod, and the Formularies of the Reformed Church in America.

The purpose of the RCA, together with all other churches of Christ, is to minister to the total life of all people by preaching, teaching, and proclaiming the gospel of Jesus Christ, the Son of God, and by all Christian good works. That purpose is achieved most effectively when good order and proper discipline are maintained by means of certain offices, governmental agencies, and theological and liturgical standards.

The Holy Scriptures are the only rule of faith and practice in the RCA. Its Constitution consists of the Doctrinal Standards (which are the Belhar Confession, Belgic Confession, the Heidelberg Catechism, and the Canons of Dort), the Liturgy with the Directory for Worship, the Government of the Reformed Church in America, and the Disciplinary Procedures.

The latest editions of the Book of Church Order (BCO) are available in several languages. Please choose which edition you wish to access:

Also available:

English Book of Church Order

The 2019 version of the BCO can be accessed in its entirety or in sections.

An Introduction to the Book of Church Order

An overview summarizing the purpose and nature of the Book of Church Order.

How to Use the Book of Church Order

A short summary on how to use the RCA's Book of Church Order.