Our Seminaries

The two RCA seminaries, New Brunswick Theological Seminary in New Brunswick, New Jersey, and Western Theological Seminary in Holland, Michigan, have long, distinguished histories. As the oldest Protestant seminary in North America, New Brunswick traces its roots to 1784. Western was established in 1866.

New Brunswick Theological Seminary

  • Three degree programs
    • Master of Divinity
    • Master of Arts in Theological Studies
    • Doctor of Ministry in Metro-Urban Ministry
  • Multilingual, multiethnic community
  • Strong urban ministry focus
  • More than twenty communions represented
  • Center for Reformed Church Studies

New Brunswick Theological Seminary offers a Master of Arts degree. We also offer a Certificate Program with 3 concentrations: Women’s Studies, Theological Studies and Preaching. Degrees are available from our New York City campus and our New Brunswick, New Jersey campus. Classes are also available in online and hybrid formats.

Western Theological Seminary

  • Four degree programs:
    • Master of Divinity
    • Master of Divinity--Master of Social Work dual track
    • Master of Theology
    • Master of Arts
    • Doctor of Ministry
  • Two certificate programs:
    • Certificate in Disability and Ministry
    • Certificate in Pastoral Ministry - English and Spanish
  • One graduate program:  
    • Graduate Program for Christian Educators

Priority on building community

  • Classic emphasis on being Reformed, evangelical, and ecumenical
  • Distance learning option for Master of Divinity and Master of Arts
  • Annual Bast Preaching Festival